Three exceptional students receive the Scot Heery scholarship

Each year, three applicants receive the Scot Heery scholarship—senior radiation sciences and nuclear medicine technology majors whose work ethic and daily commitment to quality patient care most closely aligned with the values and character that Scot Heery portrayed in his distinguished career. Heery was a senior imaging technologist in the Department of Radiology at UI Hospitals & Clinics. He worked in the department for over 30 years prior to his passing, with expertise in computed tomography and dedication to excellence in patient care.

Ryan Hageman, Margaret Cruise, Alexis Henry

An anonymous donor generously funds each of the $5,000 awards in Heery’s name through the University of Iowa Center for Advancement.

The scholarship’s selection committee, comprised of seven individuals who knew Heery well, received and reviewed applications from many qualified and deserving students, making the selection process a difficult one. The recipients of the Scot Heery Scholarships for the 2018–19 academic year include:

  • Ryan Hageman in radiologic technology/CT
  • Margaret Cruise in radiation therapy
  • Alexis Henry in nuclear medicine technology

Margaret Cruise; Cheryl Heery (Scot Heery’s wife); Ryan Hageman; Alexis Henry; and Colin Derdeyn, MD, FACR, department chair of neurology




Comments are closed.