Radiation Sciences honors Scot Heery Scholarship recipients

The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Radiation Sciences Program hosted a reception Aug. 23 to honor three students who received Scot Heery Scholarships for the 2019–2020 academic year.

This year’s recipients were Hope Christensen (Radiologic Technology/MRI), Kelsey Cota (Radiologic Technology/CT), and Alexandra Reifert (Radiologic Technology/MRI).

The awards, each for $5,000, are granted to students whose work ethic and commitment to patient care most closely aligns with the values and character of Scot Heery.

Heery worked as a senior imaging technologist in CT (computed tomography) for over 30 years. As a talented educator, an advocate of new technology, and a compassionate caregiver, he personified success for all involved in radiation sciences. Heery’s example continues to live on both through his scholarships and the students who earn them.

Funded through a donation by an anonymous donor to the UI Center for Advancement in Heery’s name, the scholarships are awarded by a committee of seven individuals who were closely acquainted with Heery. Through these scholarship awards, Heery’s legacy continues to inspire and motivate others to success in radiation sciences.