Medical faculty honored at awards banquet

Ten University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine faculty members were honored for their work at the college’s Faculty Awards Banquet, held March 6 at Brown Deer Golf and Country Club in Coralville.

The event “celebrates our faculty members who go above and beyond their day-to-day responsibilities and make a lasting impact on our organization and our profession,” said Brooks Jackson, MD, MBA, UI vice president for medical affairs and dean of the Carver College of Medicine who provided remarks at the event. “Without question, each of the faculty members we honor personifies a commitment to service and professional integrity.”

Left to right: W. John Sharp, Nkanyezi Ferguson, Steven Anderson, Donna Hammond, Anthony Brenneman, Andrew Russo, David Price, Brooks Jackson, Stefan Strack, George Bergus, and Harold Adams

Following is a list of award recipients honored at the event:

Collegiate Teaching Award

  • Harold Adams, MD, professor of neurology
  • Anthony Brenneman, MPAS, PA-C, clinical professor and director of physician assistant studies and services
  • David Price, PhD, professor of biochemistry
  • Andrew Russo, PhD, professor of molecular physiology and biophysics

The Collegiate Teaching Award is given to faculty members whodemonstrate significant and meritorious achievement in teaching and who have contributed to students’developmentthrough mentoring, advising, and sponsoring of creative and/or scholarly achievements.

Carver College of Medicine Faculty Service Award

  • Steven Anderson, MA, PhD, associate professor of neurology

The Faculty Service Award acknowledges a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the college in the area of service through extensive committee work, contributions to ad hoc projects, or other leadership roles that benefit the institution.

Ernest O. Theilen Award

  • George Bergus, MD, MA-Ed, professor of family medicine

The Theilen Award is presented to a faculty member who emulates the qualities recognized in Ernest O. Theilen, MD, a former faculty member in the Department of Internal Medicine known for his commitment to patients and the medical profession. The award recipient is an active clinician who displays the qualities of a dedicated physician, an advocate of the college, a strong representative of the institution, and a mentor to students, residents, and fellows.

J.P. Long Teaching Award in the Basic Sciences

  • Stefan Strack, PhD, professor of pharmacology

This award honors John P. Long, PhD, a former faculty member and chair of the Department of Pharmacology, and is given to an individual who exemplifies teaching that uniquely enhances student learning through new methods, style, or spectrum of material and enhances student learning and intellectual development.

UI President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence

  • W. John Sharp, MD, professor of surgery

This university-level award represents the highest level of achievement in teaching given at the UI and recognizes a faculty member who has achieved outstanding and sustained levels of teaching excellence and commitment to student learning.

Regents Award for Faculty Excellence

  • Donna Hammond, PhD, professor of anesthesia

Given by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, this award honors faculty members for work representing a significant contribution to excellence in public education. As many as six faculty members from across the university are selected each year to receive this award.

Diversity Catalyst Award

  • Nkanyezi Ferguson, MD, FAAD, clinical assistant professor of dermatology

Sponsored by the UI Chief Diversity Office and the Office of Equal Opportunity and Diversity, the Diversity Catalyst Award is designed to honor faculty or staff members, programs or departments, and students or student organizations engaged in diversity initiatives that have promoted the development of an inclusive, diverse campus community at the UI.

1 comment

Comments are closed.