Making a Difference Award recipients, April 2017

University of Iowa Health Care is committed to creating and maintaining a work environment where staff can use their skills, talents, and abilities to deliver high quality health care and service to patients, staff, and visitors.

You Make a DifferenceThe Making a Difference program is designed to recognize individuals who have performed in an exemplary manner, consistent with the goals of service excellence, and with a commitment to quality care.

All those nominated will be recognized as a Making a Difference Award recipient. Individuals who go outside of their job duties to help others will be considered for a Making a Difference CEO Award.

Recognizing others is fast and easy with the Making a Difference Nomination form.

Ambulatory Surgery Center

Lucas Maakestad

College of Pharmacy

Bret Spiek

Emergency Medicine

  • Christopher Peterson
  • Environmental Services
  • Melodie Bouslog
  • Tim Weldon

Food and Nutrition Services

The deli staff of Fountain Dining Room

Guest Services

Devin Decker

Health Care Information Systems

Jennifer Franzwa

Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center

  • Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center team
  • Jean Arndt

Internal Medicine

  • Alan Gunderson
  • Justin Chau
  • Ramzi El Accaoui and team
  • Timothy Thomsen

Marketing and Communications

  • Amanda Franzen
  • Barbara Barrows
  • Kristine Roggentien


Patrick Hitchon


  • 6JCE nursing team
  • 6JCW nursing staff
  • Ann Finn
  • Cassie Doolady
  • Peds Specialty Clinic team
  • Robert Hall


Andrew Pugley


Steven Sperry

Rehabilitation Therapies

Bryn Kleffman

UI Health Care–Iowa River Landing

Laila Bashir

University Employee Health Clinic

Glenda Shaffer

Volunteer Services

  • Alexis Hansen
  • Allison Zimmerman
  • Arman Hlas
  • Ben Claussen
  • Breyana Williams
  • Evy Martin
  • Jake Brodarzon
  • Julie Nguyen
  • Kaiti Reid
  • Madison Staecker
  • Matthew Kelly
  • Matthew Roozeboom
  • Megan DeDecker