Imborek and Nisly honored with the Physician Community Service Award

Nicole Nisly, MD, and Katherine Imborek, MD, showcase their awards at the Iowa Medical Society’s President’s Reception.

The Physician Community Service Award recognizes physicians for their outstanding service to their community. This year, co-directors of the
University of Iowa Health Care LGBTQ Clinic, Katherine Imborek, MD, professor and family medicine physician, and Nicole Nisly, MD, professor and general internist, were recognized with the award.

The Iowa Medical Society presented the duo with the award for building a practice that caters to the special needs of the LGBTQ population, not just from a clinical care standpoint, but also from the perspective that patients need to feel comfortable and understood by their care team.

The Human Rights Campaign Foundation also recognized them as LGBTQ Healthcare Equality Leaders.


Comments are closed.