Faculty, LGBTQ Clinic honored at annual awards banquet

The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine honored five individual faculty members and the LGBTQ Clinic during the college’s 2020 Faculty Awards Banquet March 4 at the Brown Deer Golf Club in Coralville.

The annual event provides an opportunity to recognize faculty who exceed expectations and positively impact those around them.

“It’s a great opportunity to recognize and celebrate our faculty members who go above and beyond their day-to-day responsibilities and make a lasting impact on their peers, their colleagues, their students, and their patients,” said Brooks Jackson, MD, MBA, UI vice president for medical affairs and the Tyrone D. Artz Dean of the Carver College of Medicine.

Below is a list of award recipients:

Ernest O. Theilen Clinical Teaching and Service Award

  • Winner: H. Culver Boldt, MD, professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences

The Theilen Award is presented to a faculty member who emulates the qualities recognized in Ernest O. Theilen, MD, a former faculty member in the Department of Internal Medicine known for his commitment to patients and the medical profession. The award recipient is an active clinician who displays the qualities of a dedicated physician, an advocate of the college, a strong representative of the institution, and a mentor to students, residents, and fellows.

Brooks Jackson, H. Culver Boldt, Ed Stone

John P. Long Teaching Award in the Basic Sciences

  • Winner: Marc Pizzimenti, PhD, MA, BEd, associate professor of anatomy and cell biology

This award honors John P. Long, PhD, a former faculty member and chair of the Department of Pharmacology, and is given to an individual who exemplifies teaching that uniquely enhances student learning through new methods, style, or spectrum of material and enhances student learning and intellectual development.

Jackson, Marc Pizzimenti, Darren Hoffman

Collegiate Teaching Award

  • Winner: Brian Gehlbach, MD, clinical professor of internal medicine—pulmonary, critical care, and occupational medicine
  • Winner: Madeline Shea, PhD, professor of biochemistry

The Collegiate Teaching Award is given to faculty members who demonstrate significant and meritorious achievement in teaching and who have contributed to students’ development through mentoring, advising, and sponsoring of creative and/or scholarly achievements.

Jackson, Brian Gehlbach, Manish Suneja

Jackson, Madeline Shea, Charles Brenner

Faculty Service Award

  • Winner: Marc Wold, PhD, professor of biochemistry

The Faculty Service Award acknowledges a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the college in the area of service through extensive committee work, contributions to ad hoc projects, or other leadership roles that benefit the institution.

Jackson, Marc Wold, Charles Brenner

Culturally Responsive Health Care Award

  • Winner: LGBTQ Clinic team

The Culturally Responsive Health Care Award is presented to an individual or group for providing care that recognizes the social and cultural backgrounds and experiences of patients and their families, and emphasizes a commitment to inclusion, empathy, and understanding in providing high-quality care and reducing health disparities.

Jackson, LGBTQ Clinic team

1 comment

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.

When commenting, please be respectful of others.