2018 graduating Family Medicine residents and fellows say farewell

Left to right: Raymond Yau-Chiang Yu, MD, Holly S. Thro, MD, L. Wern Ong, MD, Kathleen J. R. Schroeder, MD, Ana Luisa Santacruz, MD, Robert Wood, DO, MBA, Rachel Emily Immen, MD, Erin E. Hayward, MD

Members of the department and the family and friends of the 2018 graduates of the Family Medicine residency and fellowship programs gathered in the McCord Indoor Club of Kinnick Stadium to celebrate their achievements and to say farewell. Program director Kate DuChene Thoma, MD, MME, FAAFP, kicked off the evening after some group photos, a social hour, and dinner. Thoma welcomed everyone and offered her thanks to an amazing group of faculty and staff who form the core of the department’s education program.

Clinical professor of Family Medicine, Richard Dobyns, MD (R-1986), delivered a keynote speech with pearls of wisdom for the graduates as they begin their careers to continue to be health care advocates for their patients and communities.

Advisors to the graduates recorded farewell videos, all of which expressed how the graduates have blossomed into excellent family physicians and have persevered through their residencies.

Residency program directors Thoma and Jason Wilbur, MD, presented certificates to graduates of the Family Medicine program; Michelle Weckmann, MD, MS, FAAHPM, presented certificates to the Family Medicine–Psychiatry program graduates; Wilbur presented the Geriatric Medicine Fellowship certificate; and George Bergus, MD, MA, presented the Faculty Development Fellowship certificate.

Shortly after, plaques for the STFM Resident Teacher Award and the resident-selected Faculty Teacher of the Year Awards were presented to:

STFM Resident Teacher Award

  • Rachel Immen, MD

Faculty Teacher of the Year Awards

  • Michelle Weckmann, MD, MS, FAAHPM
  • Carla Christensen-Szalanski, MD
  • Kevin Schleich, PharmD

Congratulations to all the graduates. The Department of Family Medicine is grateful for the time each of you spent with us, and the opportunity to watch you all develop into wonderful, caring physicians. We wish you all the very best.

2018 graduates

Family Medicine

  • Erin E. Hayward, MD
  • L. Wern Ong, MD
  • Kathleen J. R. Schroeder, MD, chief resident
  • Robert Wood, DO, MBA
  • Raymond Yau-Chiang Yu, MD

Family Medicine–Psychiatry

  • Rachel Emily Immen, MD, chief resident
  • Ana Luisa Santacruz, MD
  • Holly S. Thro, MD

Geriatric Medicine Fellowship

  • Victoria Linares, MD

Faculty Development Fellowship

  • Aaron Kunz, DO

Aaron Kunz, DO (second from right)

Victoria Linares, MD (right)

1 comment

  1. Dr. Ong was a great Doctor for my husband,we are very sad to see him go,but wish him luck in Boston.

Comments are closed.