Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards announced

We are pleased to announce the inaugural nomination and award recipients for the Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards for resident and fellow physicians. Nominations were received for a total of 28 residents and fellows from medical students, peer residents/fellows and faculty.

These nominations represent the dynamic and skilled approach to clinical teaching, a deep appreciation for these physician-educators and high motivation to celebrate and recognize excellence among our learners and faculty.

Award recipients

Steven SeydeinSteven Seyedin, MD

Radiation Oncology Residency Program, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics

“Dr. Seyedin displayed personal investment in my development as a clinician and a leader, went out of his way to communicate clearly and thoroughly in his teaching, held me and other group executives accountable to goals, and above all created a positive learning environment which was respectful and supportive of my field of interest despite it not even being in his chosen field.”



Dan PelletierDan Pelletier, MD

Pathology-Anatomic and Clinical Residency Program, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics

“Dan is a prime example of what a clinical teacher should be – respectful, approachable, knowledgeable, open to feedback, and non-judgmental. He has both a natural aptitude for teaching while also striving for improvement whenever possible. And he has taken great initiative to improve the learning opportunities and resources for our department in ways that will last long after he has left the program.”


Ice GanapathirajuIaswarya ‘Ice’ Ganapathiraju, DO

Internal Medicine Residency Program, Unity Point Health – Des Moines

“Dr. Ganapathiraju is continually seeking and even creating opportunities to provide medical education to students and others. For instance, she took the initiative to approach Dr. Steve Craig, offering to start a new education session with the core clerkship students on the topic of diagnostic reasoning, and now leads that highly regarded session for every rotation cohort each six weeks.”



Albert PaiAlbert Pai, MD

Thoracic Surgery (Integrated) Residency Program, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics

“When I tell stories of excellent clinical teaching, especially in the operating room, to those on the residency interview trail and to junior medical students, I talk about my time with Dr. Pai.”





  • Lama Abdel Wahed, MD, Neurology Residency
  • Nandita Agarwal, MD, Diagnostic Radiology Residency
  • Kristen Anderson, DO, Pediatric Residency
  • Elizabeth Batchelor, MD, Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship
  • Mohsan Chaudhry, MD, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Bryce Duchman, MD, Pulmonary Disease and Critical Care Medicine Fellowship
  • Jacklyn Engelbart, MD, General Surgery Residency
  • Colette Gnade, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology Residency
  • Oday Halhouli, MD, Neurology Residency
  • Tracy Halvorson, MD, Pathology – Anatomic and Clinical Residency
  • Derek Hupp, MD, Internal Medicine Residency
  • James Jackson, MD, Family Medicine/Psychiatry Residency
  • Catherina ‘Cat’ Pinnaro, MD, Pediatric Endocrinology Fellowship
  • Kaila Pomeranz, DO, Emergency Medicine Residency
  • Edin Pujagic, DO, Infectious Disease Fellowship
  • Tyler Quist, MD, Ophthalmology Residency
  • Brittany Simmons, MD, Oculofacial Plastic, Orbit and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship
  • Matthew Smith, MD, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Katie Thompson, DO, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Conrad Tobert, MD, Urology Residency
  • Sarah Wernimont, MD, Maternal-Fetal Medicine Fellowship
  • Jason Winward, MD, Internal Medicine Residency
  • Peige Zhou, MD, General Surgery Residency
  • Tyler Zahrli, MD, Psychiatry Residency

Congratulations to all the nominees on this mark of distinction. Thank you to everyone who spent their time to submit a nomination.