Nominate a Hospital Hero by June 1

Among the more than 72,000 people who work in Iowa hospitals every day, there are countless heroes. To recognize and promote individual hospital employees who contribute courageously and selflessly to their communities, the Iowa Hospital Association (IHA) annually sponsors the Iowa Hospital Heroes Awards.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 1, and the awards are presented at the IHA Annual Meeting, October 9 to 11, in Des Moines.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone affiliated with an Iowa hospital—clinical or non-clinical employees. The nominees must be employed (or recently retired) or have medical privileges at an Iowa hospital. To submit a candidate for the award, a nomination form must be completed and accompanied by a narrative explaining why the nominee deserves this award.

Past winners of the IHA Hospital Hero Award from UI Health Care include:

  • 2015 – Stacy Cyphert
  • 2014 – Roger Tracy
  • 2009 – Ignacio Ponseti
  • 2008 – Michael Acarregui and John Dagle
  • 2007 – Kathleen Duttlinger

Visit for more information.