New medical directors as of July 1, 2019

Part of Quest newsletter, Sept. 2019

A new addition to the communication section of Quest will be introducing new medical directors. Medical directors function as clinical team leaders and are responsible for aligning their area with hospital initiatives. Their role is to assure cohesive and patient/family centered care is achieved in their area by partnering with nursing and administration to influence and improve quality outcomes.

The below list shows the new medical directors that began in the role since July 1, 2019.

Department Provider Directorship
Internal Medicine Paulino Alvarez, MD Cardiomyopathy TX medical director
Internal Medicine Denice Hodgson-Zingman, MD Electrophysiology medical director
Ophthalmology Matthew Thurtell, MBBS, MSc Perimetry (visual field) lab medical director
Orthopaedics Brendan Patterson, MD, MPH Ortho clinical medical director
Pediatrics Madhuradhar Chegondi, MBBS, MD Peds transport PICU medical director
Pediatrics Regan Giesinger, MD Peds transport NICU medical director
Pediatrics Lukasz Weiner, MD Peds antimicrobial stewardship medical director
Radiology Francisco Donato, MD Ultrasound medical director
Radiology Joan Maley, MD MR medical director
Radiology Parren McNeely, MD Nuclear medicine medical director
Radiology Yusuf Menda, MD PET medical director
Radiology Leonel Vasquez, MD, FACR Breast imaging medical director
Urology Gina Lockwood, MD, MS Urodynamics medical director
Urology Chad Tracy, MD Urology procedure suite medical director

Furthermore, an updated list of all UI Hospitals & Clinics unit-based medical directors can be found on the Unit-Based Clinical Leadership SharePoint site in an Excel document.

Other helpful lists of faculty and staff involved in quality and safety initiatives at UI Hospitals & Clinics can be found on the Quality Improvement Program (QuIP) SharePoint site along the right side: