CMN Awardees for 2020

Congratulations to the Children’s Miracle Network Research Awardees for 2020. They include:

  • Dr. Rhanda Darville, GI Fellow: “the role of diet, sex and microbiome in sterile osteomyelitis” – $50,000.
  • Dr. Gopinathan Gangadharan Nambiar, GI Fellow: “Investigational study on obstructive meconium lysis” – $50,000.
  • Dr. Katie Larson Ode, Endocrinology and Diabetes: “University of Iowa CF Biobank” – $48,468.

Two Publications for Dr. Harshman in Nephrology

Congratulations to Dr. Lyndsay Harshman on her two recent publications in the journal Pediatric Nephrology.

Johnson RJ, Gerson AC, Harshman LA, Matheson MB, Shinnar S, Lande MB, Krogon AJ, Gipson DS, Warady BA, Furth SL, Hooper SR. A Longitudinal Examination of Parent-Reported Emotional-Behavioral Functioning of Children With Mild to Moderate Chronic Kidney Disease. Pediatr Nephrol. 2020 Jul;35(7):1287-1295. doi: 10.1007/s00467-020-04511-9. Epub 2020 Mar 10.

Harshman LA, Krogon AJ, Matheson MB, Johnson RJ, Shinnar S, Gerson AC, Warady BA, Furth SL, Hooper SR, Lande MB. Bicarbonate, Blood Pressure, and Executive Function in Pediatric CKD-is There a Link?. Pediatr Nephrol. 2020 Jul;35(7):1323-1330. doi: 10.1007/s00467-020-04507-5. Epub 2020 Apr 15.

Haskell Receives New Grant from NIH

Congratulations to Dr. Sarah Haskell in the Division of Critical Care on her new NIH grant titled “SSRI Exposure and Ventricular Development from Bench to Bedside: A Prospective study to Determine if Maternal Depression Treatment Impacts Offspring Cardiac Development”.

The grant provides almost $1.8 million over the next 5 years.

New Publication Out of Neonatology on SARS-CoV-2

Congratulations to Neonatology providers Drs. Tim Elgin, Melanie Reyes-Hernandez (PL-3), Brady Thomas, and Patrick McNamara for their recent article published in the Journal of Neonatal Perinatal Medicine on SARS-CoV-2.

Funding Opportunity for Early Investigators

Check out this funding opportunity for tenure track faculty in years 1-4 of faculty position (and with no R01 funding). It’s a really simple internal application initially. The internal application includes the following: (but, heads up, if you’re selected the formal application is due Aug 1st to the sponsor, so be prepared but I think only 1-2 get selected to apply from U Iowa).

  • An NIH biosketch
  • A description of the proposed project. It should have the following elements:
    • A cover sheet with the project title, your name and department, and the title of the program you are responding to.
    • A lay summary of the proposed research (no more than two pages in length).
    • A one-two page budget with a breakdown of how the funds will be used. Justify how the award funds will be used to advance the unique problem under study in a way that cannot be done with existing funds. Include detail on the levels of support of any grants already available or pending.
  • Additional pages may be used for references.

The above materials must be submitted no later than Wednesday, June 3, 2020. The selected applicants will be asked to complete the full application package in accordance with the sponsor’s Saturday, August 1, deadline.

More information is available at the Iowa site or the Mallinckrodt Foundation site

New Grants Awarded to Four Faculty

Congratulations to Dr. Aaron Boes (Neurology), Dr. Osamah Aldoss (Cardiology), Dr. Paul McCray (Pulmonary), and Dr. Damian Krysan (Infectious Diseases) on their recent grants received.

  • Dr. Boes – will receive $209,934 over 3 years from the Sidney J. Baer, Jr. Foundation for “Establishing Neuromodulation/Neuropsychiatry Fellowship”.
  • Dr. Aldoss – will receive $92,973 over 4 years from Emory University / NIH for “Long-term Outcomes after Interventions for Congenital Heart Disease.”
  • Dr. McCray – received $74,165 from the Medical College of Wisconsin / NIH for “Base editing in the Rhesus airway epithelia.”
  • Dr. Krysan – will receive $683,782/year for 5 years (over $3.2 million total) from the NIH for “Genetic and mechanistic analysis of carbon dioxide tolerance in Cryptococcus pathogenesis.”

Three Faculty Receive CCOM Innovation Research Grants

Congratulations to Drs. John Dagle and Jeff Murray (Neonatology), and Dr. Aaron Boes (Neurology) on each receiving a CCOM Innovation Research Grant in the amount of $10,000. Their individual projects are listed below:

  • Dr. Dagle – Identifying novel metabolic predictors of persistent neonatal hypoglycemia.
  • Dr. Murray – Fetal transcripts isolated from maternal serum as biomarkers for birth defects.
  • Dr. Boes – Precision intracranial brain stimulation to treat severe depression: Developing a novel strategy to target symptom-specific causal circuitry.