Alumni News-Class Notes


Longtime Sioux City physician Gerald McGowan (’63 MD) received the Dr. George G. Spellman Annual Service Award from the Mercy Medical Center Foundation in recognition of his time, talent, and support. A flight surgeon with the U.S. Air Force during the Vietnam War, McGowan later helped to launch the Siouxland Medical Education Foundation Inc. and served as a clinical faculty member for the University of Iowa and University of South Dakota, Vermillion.


John Rogers (’78 MD), of Macon, Georgia, was elected chairman of the board of directors of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP ). He is co-emergency department medical director for Coliseum Northside Hospital. Elected to the ACEP board in 2011 and 2014, he also has served as ACEP ’s secretary-treasurer and vice president.

Hubert Seiler (’72 MD) retired after 43 years in practice at Heart of America Medical Center in Rugby, North Dakota. In 2014, he was named the National Rural Health Association’s Practitioner of the Year as well as the University of North Dakota Center for Rural Health’s Outstanding Rural Health Provider.

Michael Welsh (’74 MD, ’77 R), director of the Pappajohn Biomedical Institute and UI professor of internal medicine, molecular physiology and biophysics, and neurosurgery, received the Steven C. Beering Award from Indiana University School of Medicine for outstanding research contributions to the advancement of biomedical or clinical science.


Paul McCray (’81 MD, ’84 R, ’88 F), UI professor of pediatrics, microbiology, and internal medicine, received a 2016 Regents Award for Faculty Excellence, one of Iowa’s highest honors for faculty achievement.

Margo Schilling (’85 MD, ’88 R, ’93 F), UI clinical professor of internal medicine, was named to the John McMaster Ristine, MD, Professorship in Geriatrics Education.


Bridget Coughlin (’99 PhD) has combined two passions in her professional career—science and people—in a dream job as CEO of the Shedd Aquarium, Chicago’s most visited cultural attraction and a national leader in animal care, conservation education, and marine research.

John Meehan Jr. (’93 MD) was race director for the Telenet UCI Cyclo-Cross World Cup held in Iowa City in September. Meehan is a pediatric surgeon in Seattle and longtime fan of cyclo-cross, which features cyclists riding through creeks and woods and quickly dismounting to jump obstacles. While practicing in Iowa City, he founded the annual Volkswagen Jingle Cross Cyclo-Cross race that has been a fundraiser for University of Iowa Stead Family Children’s Hospital since 2004.

Thomas Oetting, MD (’95 F), UI clinical professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, was appointed to the Rodolfo N. Perez Jr., MD (’77 R, ’77 F), and Margaret Perez Professorship in Ophthalmology Education.


Jeffrey J. Anderegg (’00 MD, ’04 R) completed his first Ironman Wisconsin triathlon. He is an anesthesiologist at Marshfield Clinic in Rice Lake, Wisconsin.

John H. Fingert (’00 MD, ’00 PhD, ’04 R, ’06 F) is a new member of the American Ophthalmological Society, joining Edwin Stone, MD, PhD (’89 R, ’90 F, ’92 F), and Stanley Thompson, MD, representing the UI faculty in the organization.

Scott Larson, MD (’02 R, ’03 F), UI clinical associate professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, was appointed to the William E. Scott Professorship in Pediatric Ophthalmology, named in honor of William E. Scott (’64 MD, ’70 R), UI professor emeritus of ophthalmology.


Benjamin Cook (’14 MD), a resident at Madigan Army Medical Center in Fort Lewis, Washington, was honored by the College of American Pathologists for his tireless efforts through work with the organization, clinical partners, patients, students, and the public.

Wendy Fiordellisi (’12 MD, ’15 R), UI clinical assistant professor of internal medicine, received the Honoring Your Wishes Dianne Day Community Champion award for initiating a pilot project related to advance care planning. Findings from the project will enable her provider colleagues to offer advance care planning services to their patients.