Alumni News-Class Notes


Mike Richards (’74 MD), vice chairman and managing partner of Quatro Composites in Orange City, Iowa, which specializes in manufacturing equipment for the aerospace and medical industries, was appointed to the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. Pending confirmation by the Iowa Senate, his term runs until 2021.


Gerry Clancy (’88 MD, ’92 R) was named the 20th president of the University of Tulsa, where he currently serves as vice president for health affairs and dean of the Oxley College of Health Sciences. He assumes the presidency Jan. 1, 2017. He is a former president of the University of Oklahoma-Tulsa.

Daniel Fick (’89 MD, ’92 R, ’93 F) is the new director of primary care for UI Physicians, the state’s largest multispecialty practice group, and UI Health Ventures. He has served as clinical professor of family medicine since 1993.


Chris Buresh (’01 MD, ’06 R), UI clinical associate professor of emergency medicine, received the 2016 Physician Community Service Award from the Iowa Medical Society for his mission work provided to the people of Haiti.

Kevin Glenn, MD (’01 R, ’02 F), UI clinical associate professor of general internal medicine, was named director of the adult hospitalist program serving UI Hospitals and Clinics and the Iowa City Veterans Affairs Medical Center.

Nathaniel Jones (’06 MD, ’09 R) was the team physician for U.S. Soccer’s under-23 women’s team at the Nordic Tournament in England in June. Specializing in sports injuries and sports medicine, he is an assistant professor in orthopedic surgery and rehabilitation at Loyola University Chicago Stritch School of Medicine.

Vinit Mahajan, MD, PhD (’08 F), UI clinical assistant professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, received the 2016 Alumni Achievement Award from Fight for Sight, which invests in the future of eye and vision research by funding promising scientists early in their careers. He is a vitreoretinal surgeon and directs the UI Proteomics Lab.

Karl Thomas, MD (’01 F), UI clinical professor of internal medicine, received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation.


Nicole Grogan (’15 MD), a UI resident in internal medicine, earned the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Award from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. She was nominated by third-year medical students.