Alumni News-Class Notes


William E. Scott (’64 MD, ’70 R), UI professor emeritus of ophthalmology, received the Iowa Medical Society’s Physician Community Service Award for helping to establish Iowa KidSight. The program conducts free eye screenings at Iowa daycares and preschools, and then UI physicians interpret the results and refer patients to local providers as necessary. Scott is the program’s medical director.

Gunter von Noorden, MD (’62 R), distinguished professor emeritus at Baylor College of Medicine and a former UI faculty member (1961-63), was inducted into the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery Ophthalmology Hall of Fame. Also inducted was Frederick Blodi, MD, chair emeritus in ophthalmology (1967-84) at the UI, who died in 1996.


Louis Katz (’76 MD, ’79 R, ’82 F) was inducted into the Hall of Honor at his high school alma mater, Davenport (Iowa) Central. He has devoted his professional career to public health, infectious diseases, and the prevention and treatment of HIV/AIDS. He serves as chief medical officer of America’s Blood Centers in Washington, D.C.

Peter Marcellus (’75 MD) retired after 40 years in practice, most recently at Cox Medical Center in Branson, Mo.


David Asprey (’87 PA), PhD, was the commencement speaker at Bethel University, where he earned a biology degree and was named the 2014 College of Arts & Sciences Alumnus of the Year. He is assistant dean for student affairs and curriculum, as well as chair and department executive officer of physician assistant studies and services in the UI Carver College of Medicine.

Patrick Hitchon, MD (’80 F), UI professor of neurosurgery, is associate editor of Clinical Neurology and Neurosurgery.


Jane Bailey, MD (’96 R), was elected to the board of the American Board of Ophthalmology.

Jason Kessler (’98 MD) has published St. Bartholomew’s Blood, a medical mystery/ thriller about two doctors in a small Iowa town battling an impending flood as well as a vampire killer.

Beth McCarville (’90 MD), Cordova, Tenn., received the 2015 John Caffey Award for Best Clinical Research from the Society for Pediatric Radiology.


Azeemuddin Ahmed (’00 MD), UI executive vice chair of emergency medicine, received the Wall of Honor Distinguished Alumni Award from Pleasant Valley (Iowa) High School.

Elise DeVore Berlan (’00 MD), a physician at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, helps run a nonprofit organization that provides medical services, clean water, education programs, and economic development opportunities to residents of the Republic of Mali in West Africa. Medicine for Mali was launched after Berlan, as a medical student working in rural Mali, saw the lack of medications available to villagers and lobbied her physician father to help.