Link: University of Iowa

Three Undergraduate Students Awarded 2019 Rex Montgomery Scholarships

The 2019 Rex Montgomery Scholarships were award to:

  • Kinsey Gudenkauf, Dr. Scott Shaw’s laboratory;
  • Jade Miller, Dr. Maria Spies’ laboratory; and
  • Francesca Spencer, Dr. Daniel Weeks’ laboratory

Rex Montgomery Scholarships recognize undergraduate students for their outstanding academic record and commitment to research. This scholarship was established by the late Dr. Rex Montgomery, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Montgomery began his career at the University of Iowa in 1955, and was admired for his impact as a researcher, teacher and mentor. Dr. Montgomery was an internationally recognized carbohydrate biochemist and textbook author. While on the faculty, he served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Medicine, the Vice President of Research for the University and was the founding director of the University of Iowa Physician Assistant Program. Dr. Montgomery retired in 2005 after more than 50 years on the faculty.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.