Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Uncategorized’ Category

Alicia Salvi awarded NIH F31 Pre-doctoral Fellowship

Thursday, February 20th, 2020


Alicia Salvi, a Biochemistry Graduate Student, was awarded a NIH F31 Pre-doctoral Fellowship. Her project was entitled, “Investigating E-cadherin mechanotransduction.”


Congratulations Alicia!

Drs. Lori Wallrath and Benjamin Darbro awarded NIH R21 grant

Monday, February 17th, 2020

Lori Wallrath, PhD and Benjamin Darbro, MD/PhD (Pediatrics) received an NIH R21 grant to study genetic modifiers of lamin-associated muscular dystrophies.


Congratulations Dr. Wallrath and Darbro!

Dr. Marc Wold inducted into Wall of Scholarship

Thursday, February 13th, 2020

Dr. Marc Wold was inducted into the Wall of Scholarship on February 12, 2020. The University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine Wall of Scholarship was created to highlight current faculty members whose publications have made a powerful impact on a particular field of science or medicine.

“The articles were selected for having been cited more than 1,000 times in subsequent published research articles, based on at least two of three recognized academic citation indices: Google Scholar, Scopus, and Web of Science. As additional first- or senior-authored research papers by Carver College of Medicine faculty achieve the distinction of 1,000 citations, these scholarly works will be commemorated with plaques on the Wall of Scholarship.”

To read more on the Wall of Scholarship, click here.

Congratulations Dr. Wold!!

Dr. John Dagle receives Distinguished Alumnus Award

Wednesday, February 5th, 2020

Dr. John Dagle (Pediatrics-Neonatology and secondary faculty in Biochemistry) was selected as recipient of the Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus Award. Dr. Dagle was selected based on his service in clinical care and research in the Neonatal-Perinatal care.


Congratulations Dr. Dagle!

Dr. Madeline Shea awarded Carver College of Medicine Collegiate Teaching Award

Friday, January 10th, 2020

Congratulations to Dr. Madeline Shea for receiving the Carver College of Medicine Collegiate Teaching Award. The purpose of the Collegiate Teaching Award is to annually acknowledge members of the faculty whose activities and accomplishments demonstrate unusually significant and meritorious achievement in teaching during the academic year.


Congrats, Dr. Shea!

Dr. Marc Wold awarded Carver College of Medicine Faculty Service Award

Friday, January 10th, 2020

Congratulations to Dr. Marc Wold for receiving the Carver College of Medicine Faculty Service Award. The purpose of this award is to annually acknowledge a faculty member who has made a significant and sustained contribution to the College of Medicine in the area of service.

Great Job Dr. Wold!


Biochemistry undergraduates featured in Dare to Discover campaign

Thursday, January 9th, 2020

Tori Cassady, a Biochemistry BA student, and Paula Valino, a Biochemistry BS student, are featured in the Dare to Discover campaign. This campaign showcases scholars, creators, and researchers from across the University of Iowa on banners throughout Iowa City. Tori Cassady studies volcanic eruptions specifically in Auckland, New Zealand. In the future, Tori would like to get her PhD in Geomicrobiology and become a research scientist. Her banner is located Downtown Iowa City on Washington Street. Paula Valino studies brain development and functioning. In the future, Paula would like to go to graduate school in a Neuroscience related field. Her banner is also located Downtown Iowa City on Washington Street.

Dr. Susan Wente recognized as an ASCB Fellow

Friday, December 20th, 2019

Dr. Susan Wente, a 1984 BS with Dr. Alice Fulton, and currently Interim Chancellor/Provost and Professor of Cell & Developmental Biology at Vanderbilt University, was recently induced as an ASCB Fellow. These individuals gain recognition for their exceptional contributions to the field of Cell Biology and are elected by their peers or by self-nomination which is followed by careful selection of the Fellows Nomination Review Committee. Dr. Wente was formally welcomed as a ASCB Fellow at the ASCB|EMBO Meeting on December 7, 2019.

Dr. Brandon Davies featured in ASBMB Today

Friday, December 13th, 2019

Dr. Brandon Davies was featured in ASBMB Today to highlight his exciting work he will present on April 7, 2020 at the Annual ASBMB meeting. Earlier this year Dr. Brandon Davies was one of four junior faculty members, working anywhere in the world, to be named Junior Associate Editors of the Journal of Lipid Research. His role as a Junior Associate Editor is to facilitate development of review skills and editorial activities.



Dr. Ernesto Fuentes is awarded a NIH grant

Monday, November 11th, 2019

Dr. Ernesto Fuentes was awarded an NIH grant for his project entitled, “Regulation of Staphylpococcus aureus colonization and disease. This grant, in collaboration with Dr. Alex Horswill (Univ. of Colorado, Denver), will study the ArlRS two-compontent regulatory system. ArlRS is involved in the transition from commensal to pathogen, and our studies on this system could uncover mechanisms that could be exploited to prevent S. aureus infections.

Please see the recent manuscript entitled: “The Staphylococcus aureus ArlRS two-component system regulates virulence factor expression through MgrA” published this month in Molecular Microbiology.