Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Shahram Khademi’ Category

Larry Gray wins the Subramanian Thesis Award

Thursday, September 20th, 2012

Lawrence Gray, who recently completed his PhD with Sharam Khademi, has been named the winner of the 2012 Subramanian Award for best PhD thesis in the Department of Biochemistry. Larry is currently pursuing post-doctoral studies with Dr. Eric Taylor.

Larry is the 19th winner of the Subramanian Award, which is made possible by a gift from Dr. Alap Subramanian, a 1964 PhD from the department, who parlayed his training with the late George Kalnitsky, (and with Irving Klotz at Northwestern and both Bernard Davis and Herman Kalckar at Harvard Medical School), into a highly successful career at the Max-Planck-Institut. Our deepest thanks to Dr. Subramanian and our heartiest congratulations to Dr. Gray.

Larry Gray defends PhD thesis

Friday, July 27th, 2012

Lawrence Gray, a PhD student mentored by Sharam Khademi, has successfully defended his thesis, entitled “Detailed characterization of the urea channel UreI from Helicobacter pylori.” After graduation Larry will join the laboratory of Dr. Eric Taylor as a post-doc researcher. He plans to pursue a  career in academia. Congratulations to Larry!

Biochemistry Honors students present at Lata Symposium

Thursday, April 19th, 2012

Seven Biochemistry Honors students presented their research yesterday afternoon at the 8th Annual Gene F. Lata Undergraduate Research Symposium. Please join Undergraduate and Honors Advisor, Professor Marc Wold, in congratulating these 2011 graduates and their research mentors for a job well done.

  • Ashley Angell
    Mentor: Kris DeMali
    Tyrosine Phosphorylation of Vinculin Regulates Cell-Matrix Adhesion
  • Chelsea Khaw
    Mentor: Kris DeMali
    The Role of the Β3 Integrin in Melanoma Resistance to Chemotherapy
  • James Min
    Mentor: Joseph Zabner (Pulmonary)
    Organ-specific Expression of a Transgenic Human Lactonase in Drosophila melanogaster
  • Emma Nash
    Mentor: Martha Monick (Internal Medicine)
    Smoking Alters Dicer Expression in Human Alveoler Macrophages
  • Luke Prest
    Mentor: Dan Weeks
    Separating Functional Domains of Cardiac Transcription Factors by Construction of Chimeric Proteins
  • Hyun Soo Ryu
    Mentor: Shahram Khademi
    Mechanisms of Urea Conduction in Urea Channel
  • Austin Stark
    Mentor: Adrian Elcock
    Molecular Simulations of Weak Protein-protein Interactions

Biochemistry well-represented at Biophysical Society annual meeting

Saturday, March 3rd, 2012

Iowa Biochemistry was well-represented this past week at the annual meeting of the Biophysical Society. Dr. Ernie Fuentes gave a talk at the meeting. Larry Gray, a graduate student in the Khademi lab, was awarded a Student Research Award from the poster competition on Monday, for his work on the pH-dependent conduction of urea through the UreI channel in the ulcer-causing bacteria Helicobacter pylori.

Also in attendance at this meeting were Dr. Madeline Shea and her lab and Dr. Kris DeMali and her lab.

Biochemistry undergraduates present honors talks

Wednesday, November 30th, 2011

Two Biochemistry Honors students presented their research yesterday at the Biochemistry Workshop. Min Jung Choi of the McNamara Lab (Hematology/Oncology) gave a talk entitled “Non-invasive delivery of macromolecules to the brain.” Steve Linden of the Khademi lab spoke on “The expression and purification of the urea channel in helicobacter pylori.” Both are graduating with honors in biochemistry this December. Min Jung, originally from Wonju City, South Korea, plans to pursue a PhD in Biophysics/Structural Biology and Steve, originally from Sioux City, Iowa, plans to attend Dental School. Congratulations to both on their accomplishments!

25 Years of Iowans at the Gibbs Conference

Thursday, October 13th, 2011

Madeline Shea presented the 3rd Annual Gary K. Ackers Lecture at the 25th Annual Gibbs Conference on Biothermodynamics in Illinois in September. The laboratories of Ernesto Fuentes and Shahram Khademi  also participated in the meeting, along with Biochemistry alumni and members of their current laboratories, including Liskin Swint-Kruse at KUMC and Greg DeKoster at Washington University (Robertson Lab graduates), Brian Baker at Notre Dame and Jim Horn at Northern Illinois (Murphy Lab graduates) and Susan Pedigo at Ole Miss (Shea Lab graduate). In fact, current and former Iowa Biochemistry members and their trainees accounted for 12% of the attendees at this year’s conference.

The Gibbs Conference annually attracts 200 scientists with an interest in the energetics, kinetics, structure, and engineering of biological macromolecules and systems.  The conference showcases a broad spectrum of thermodynamic, structural, hydrodynamic, spectroscopic, calorimetric, and computational techniques. Since its inception in 1987, the Gibbs Conference has been attended by many students and postdoctoral fellows. This year, half of the approximately 30 talks were delivered by trainees.  Trainees also served as session moderators, including four with Iowa connections:  John Froehlig, a former Shea Lab undergraduate student now in Herschel Wade’s laboratory at Johns Hopkins; Ann Murray, in the Fuentes laboratory; Nagamani Vunnam, in the Pedigo lab at Ole Miss; and Dan Parente in the Swint-Kruse lab at KUMC.  More than 110 posters – most presented by junior scientists – were displayed during the poster session. This year the meeting added a new event – Saturday Night Thermo – for trainees only. It featured flashtalks and a Career Panel.  This was co-organized by KUMC Associate Professor Liskin Swint-Kruse and LSU Professor Vince LiCata.

There was a special issue of Biophysical Chemistry associated with this meeting, including papers from Swint-Kruse and Shea. Dr. Shea also penned a historical introductory article on 25 years of the conference.

Dr. Lois Bigger Gehring Awardees

Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009

Lois Bigger Gehring, a great friend of the Department of Biochemistry, has created an endowment for the Department to support graduate students.   (more…)