Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Liskin Swint-Kruse’ Category

Alumna Dr. Liskin Swint-Kruse named Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at KUMC

Monday, March 18th, 2019

Biochemistry Alumna Dr. Liskin Swint-Kruse, (1995 PhD with Dr. Andrew Robertson), has been named Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC) where she has been serving as Interim Chair since last fall. Executive Vice Chancellor at KUMC , Dr. Robert D. Simari, wrote “Over the past eight months, her leadership in both the department and the school of medicine has been commendable.  In addition to her many leadership roles, Dr. Swint-Kruse remains actively engaged in teaching in the ACE curriculum.  She maintains a successful and well-funded research program focusing on ways to improve genomics-based diagnoses for personalized medicine.” Congratulations, Dr. Swint-Kruse!

Highlights from the 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat

Monday, August 26th, 2013


The 2013 Biochemistry 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat, organized by Lori Wallrath, Charles Brenner, Maria Spies, Earle Stellwagen, Mark Miller, Lacy Barton, and Maren Rogers, was held on Saturday, August 24. The scientific program at the Levitt Center for University Advancement featured talks by Charles Brenner and Catherine Musselman, Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, Dale Abel, and Director of the Iowa Institute of Human Genetics, Richard Smith. In addition, Gary Firestone (1980 PhD with Ed Heath), Tristram Parslow (1977 MD/PhD with Daryl Granner), Bob Deschenes (faculty from 1989-2004),  and Debbie Thurmond (1997 PhD with Alan Goodridge) gave scientific presentations.

The poster session featured 39 posters. Six total awards were given in three categories. In the undergraduate division, first place went to Dylan Thiemann (Wallrath lab), and second place to Liam Hovey (Shea lab). In the Postdoc/Research Assistant/Associate category, Jiannan Guo (Price lab) and Rebecca Fagan (Brenner lab) won first and second places, respectively . Two Lois Bigger Gehring Awards were given to support graduate student travel to research conferences. Lacy Barton (Geyer lab) and Jessica Maiers (DeMali lab) each won this award for best poster in the graduate student category.

The dinner at the Athletics Hall of Fame featured thoughts and reflections from PhD graduates of the department, including Morey Slodki (1955), Charles Fishkin (son of Arthur Fishkin, 1957), Billy Hudson (1966), Liskin Swint-Kruse (1995), and a video message from Alap Subramanian (1964). Along with former faculty members Charles Swenson, Robert Barker, Earle Stellwagen, Arthur Spector, Bryce Plapp, Robert Roskoski, Larry Solomonson, Alice Fulton, and Daryl Granner.

Thanks to everyone for participating.