Link: University of Iowa

Archive for May, 2013

Cryderman wins Distinguished Research Support Professional Award

Tuesday, May 28th, 2013

Congratulations to Diane Cryderman (Research Associate, Wallrath lab) for winning the inaugural University of Iowa “Distinguished Research Support Professional Award”.  This award recognizes Diane’s outstanding contributions to research and her long-time commitment to the Department of Biochemistry and the University of Iowa.

Ryan Baxley defends PhD thesis

Thursday, May 16th, 2013

Ryan Baxley, a Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD student mentored by Pamela Geyer, has successfully defended his thesis, entitled “Understanding the Contribution of Individual Zinc Fingers to a Multi-functional, Polydactyl Transcription Factor.” Congratulations to Ryan!

Wallrath undergraduate receives AHA fellowship

Wednesday, May 15th, 2013

Grant Young, a second year biochemistry student in the Wallrath lab, has received funding from the American Heart Association undergraduate student research program. Grant will study the molecular pathology of muscle laminopathies this summer, with a $4,000 stipend. Congratulations, Grant!

Lynne Dieckman defends PhD Thesis

Tuesday, May 14th, 2013

Lynne Dieckman, a Molecular and Cellular Biology PhD student mentored by Todd Washington, has successfully defended her thesis, entitled “Structure and Functional Studies of Proliferating Cell Nuclear Antigen Mutant Proteins Defective in Translesion Synthesis and Mismatch Repair.” Lynne has accepted a position as a post-doctoral researcher in the lab of Catherine Musselman.  She is very enthusiastic about her work there in chromatin biology and her future career in teaching. Congratulations to Lynne!

E. Dale Abel named Director of Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center

Monday, May 13th, 2013

We are pleased to announce that E. Dale Abel, MBBS, DPhil (MD,PhD) has been named Director of Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center. Dr. Abel will have a joint appointment as a professor in Biochemistry. Click here for the full story.

Larry Gray receives postdoc funding from Iowa Cardioavascular Center

Tuesday, May 7th, 2013

Congratulations to Larry Gray, a postdoc in the Taylor lab, who has just received fellowship funding from the Iowa Cardiovascular Center. Larry will be studying how the mitochondrial pyruvate carrier is regulated during diabetes. Funding for his project comes from the Cardiovascular Interdisciplinary Research Fellowship, a training grant under the direction of Dr. Francois Abboud (Internal Medicine), which has been continuously funded since 1975.

Undergraduates inducted into Phi Beta Kappa chapter

Monday, May 6th, 2013

Three biochemistry undergraduate majors were inducted into the Alpha of Iowa Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa honors organization yesterday afternoon. In a ceremony in the Pomerantz center, Kyle Klingbeil, Stephen Siemonsma and Alexander Starr were inducted into this invitation-only society. The three joined current members and graduating seniors Alexander Crider, Clayton Oakley and Garrett Shackleton.

Ninth Annual Gene F. Lata Undergraduate Honors Symposium

Thursday, May 2nd, 2013

A record 13 students presented at this year’s Undergraduate Honors Program. This year marks the ninth year for the Gene F. Lata Undergraduate Research Symposium. Please join Professor Marc Wold, Director of Undergraduate Studies and Honors Advisor, in congratulating these 2013 graduates and their research mentors for a job well done:

  • James Bullard
    Mentor: Pam Geyer
    Diversity in function: understanding how a polydactyl zinc-finger protein confers multiple functional outputs
  • Alexander Crider
    Mentor: Atish Dey (Chemistry)
    A novel DMSP lyase
  • Atish Dey
    Mentor: David Soll (Biology)
    Identification of genes involved in candida albicans biofilm synthesis under the control of BCR1
  • Johnathan Fagg
    Mentor: Peter Rubenstein
    Molecular effects of two Baraitser Winter causing mutations
  • Bhavatharini Kasinathan
    Mentor: Sarit Smolikove (Biology)
    The relationship between proteolysis and the akirin pathway in synaptonemal complex disassembly during C. elegans meiosis
  • Irtaza Khalid
    Mentor: David Price
    Deregulation of P-TEFb through microsatellite instability-induced mutations in LARP7 as a potential cause of cancer
  • Ryan Marling
    Mentor: Dan Weeks
    The role of cardiac NK2 genes in early heart development of Xenopus laevis
  • Allyson Mayer
    Mentor: Charles Brenner
    Computational and experimental determination of protein acetylation as a function of nutrition
  • Clayton Oakley
    Mentor: Beverly Davidson (Internal Medicine)
    The validation of several candidate genes predicted to have gained microRNA binding sites through transposable elements
  • Stephen Siemonsma
    Mentor: Adrian Elcock
    Course-grained BD simulations of type III secretion system needle in salmonella
  • David Simoens
    Mentor: Lori Wallrath
    A drosophila model for lamin-associated heart disease
  • Kyle Strouse
    Mentor: Dan Weeks
    Expression of the MiR183 cluster: is there a differential expression of these micro-RNAs in early development?
  • Johanna Uribe
    Mentor: Kris DeMali
    Vinculin phosphorylation regulates epithelial phenotypes

The symposium also included the presentation of two new undergraduate awards, made possible by a gift from Alap Subramanian. The H.G. Wittmann Scholar Award was presented to Stephen Siemonsma (Elcock lab) and the H.G. Khorana Scholar Award was presented to Allyson Mayer (Brenner lab), recognizing their exceptional understanding of biochemistry and its value to society.

Congratulations to everyone named above and all of our 2013 graduates!