Link: University of Iowa

Archive for September, 2012

Faculty featured in Fall meetings and symposiums

Friday, September 21st, 2012

Lori Wallrath gave an oral presentation at the Cold Spring Harbor Symposium ‘Dynamic Organization of Nuclear Function’ (Sept 27 – Oct 1) held in Cold Spring Harbor, NY. Her talk was titled “Connections between lamins and genes involved in detoxification and neuromuscular junction function”.

David Price delivered a keynote address at the LARP Society Meeting in Banyuls Sur Mar, France on “The role of LARP7 and the 7SKsnRNP in regulating P-TEFb.” Biochemistry graduate student, John Brogie, who also attended the meeting and presented a poster, was elected to be the Graduate Student Representitive to the LARP Society.

Nancy Stellwagen gave an invited talk and chaired a discussion session at the 13th International Symposium on Colloidal and Molecular Electrooptics, held Sept. 2-5 in Ghent, Belgium. Nancy will also give an invited talk and chair a discussion session at the 19th International Symposium on Electro- and Liquid Phase-separation Techniques, to be held from Sept. 30 to Oct. 3 in Baltimore, MD and the AES Electrophoresis Society annual meeting in Pittsburgh Oct. 29-31. At the AES Society meeting, she will be given the 2012 achievement award for contributions to the field electrophoretic separations, as well as service to the society. The award session has been named in her honor.

Brenner to Chair Editorial Advisory Board for ASBMB Today

Friday, September 21st, 2012

Charles Brenner has accepted the position of Chair of the Editorial Advisory Board of ASBMB Today, the monthly magazine of the 12,000 member American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. He is completing his term as chair of the ASBMB Publications Committee, which supervises the publication of the Journal of Biological Chemistry, The Journal of Lipids Research, Molecular and Cellular Proteomics, and ASBMB Today.

Andy Robertson named Chief Scientific and Medical Officer at the National Psoriasis Foundation

Friday, September 21st, 2012

Andy Robertson, a former UI Biochemistry faculty member, is the new Chief Scientific and Medical Officer at the National Psoriasis Foundation. He will run their research grants program, a medical education program, and will be out and about raising awareness about research needs and opportunities in the area of psoriatic diseases. Dr. Robertson says, “the attractions of the position include the mission, the opportunity to stay abreast of a lot of interesting research and medicine, and the chance to interact extensively with and, hopefully, to help those who have psoriasis or psoriatic arthritis.” He will be based in Portland, OR and Iowa City.

Xiao Peng wins the Clarence Berg Award

Thursday, September 20th, 2012

Xiao Peng, a 2011 PhD with Kris DeMali, has been named the winner of the 2012 Clarence Berg Award. This prize is given every other year to a student who demonstrates “scholarship, integrity, cooperativeness, consideration and a willingness to help others.” Dr. Peng was an American Heart Association-funded graduate student who focused on the role of vinculin in adherens junctions. With this support, she uncovered the first role for vinculin in cell-cell junctions and identified novel mechanisms for the activation and recruitment of vinculin to sites of intercellular adhesion.

Previously, Xiao was selected as the Sandra H. Barkan Outstanding Graduate Mentor for 2011,  also named the winner of the 2011 Subramanian Award for best PhD thesis in the Department of Biochemistry, and was recently awarded a 3-year fellowship from the Jane Coffin Childs Memorial Fund for Medical Research. Dr. Peng is currently a postdoctoral fellow at UCSF in the laboratory of Dr. Keith Mostov. Congratulations to Dr. Peng!

Larry Gray wins the Subramanian Thesis Award

Thursday, September 20th, 2012

Lawrence Gray, who recently completed his PhD with Sharam Khademi, has been named the winner of the 2012 Subramanian Award for best PhD thesis in the Department of Biochemistry. Larry is currently pursuing post-doctoral studies with Dr. Eric Taylor.

Larry is the 19th winner of the Subramanian Award, which is made possible by a gift from Dr. Alap Subramanian, a 1964 PhD from the department, who parlayed his training with the late George Kalnitsky, (and with Irving Klotz at Northwestern and both Bernard Davis and Herman Kalckar at Harvard Medical School), into a highly successful career at the Max-Planck-Institut. Our deepest thanks to Dr. Subramanian and our heartiest congratulations to Dr. Gray.