Dr. Arenas Morales Receives Teaching Award from Blank

Congratulations to Dr. Aura Jeannette Arenas Morales (Nephrology) on receiving the Excellence in Teaching Award this afternoon from the residents at Blank Children’s Hospital!

Dr. Arenas is University of Iowa faculty, but sees patients full time at Blank Children’s Hospital. It’s a great honor to have her represent the teaching excellence that is supported through this unique collaboration between the University of Iowa and Blank Children’s Hospital. The residents have provided great feedback to her knowledge and support she has provided to them both in the clinic and inpatient realms.

Congratulations, Dr. Arenas!

Residents Make Donation to United Action for Youth

In honor of the AAP Advocacy Campaign “Advocacy Adventure”, the Pediatrics Residency Program has partnered with United Action for Youth in Iowa City. They recently were able to donate money from current residents and attend the Festival of Flowers.

If people would like to know about volunteering events they can reach out to the AAP Representatives Kaitlin Stein, Rachel Segal, and Sriya Subramani, or staff Michael Colburn

Children’s Miracle Network 2019 Research Awardees Announced

Congratulations to the awardees of the 2019 Children’s Miracle Network Research Awards below:

  • Donna Santillan, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology, “Effects of E-Cigarettes on Babies“, $50,000.
  • Catherina Pinnaro, MD, Pediatrics fellow (Endocrinology and Diabetes), “Genetic Modifiers of Glycemic Phenotype in Turner Syndrome“, $4,980.
  • Rhanda Darville, MD, Pediatrics fellow (Gastroenterology), “The role of diet, sex, and the microbiome in sterile osteomyelitis“, $50,000.
  • Mitchell Luangrath, MD, Pediatrics fellow (Critical Care), “Determining the role of tissue resident memory CD4 T cells in RSV infection“, $50,000.

Dance Marathon 2019 Research Awardees Announced

Congratulations to the awardees of the 2019 Dance Marathon Research Awards. Each will receive $50,000 for their projects.

  • Jessica Zimmerman, MD, Pediatrics Fellow in Hematology/Oncology, “Enhancing Glucocortificoid Potency for Treatment of B-ALL Using Functional Genomics”.
  • Rebecca Dodd, PhD, Assistant Professor in Internal Medicine, “Epigenetic Combination Therapy in Pediatric Sarcomas.”

Dr. Elgin and Family Welcome New Baby

Jack Elgin, born May 8, 2019

A very special shoutout to Dr. Tim Elgin, Clinical Assistant Professor in the Division of Neonatology, and his wife, Tressa, on the birth of their son, Jack Elgin. Jack was born on May 8, 2019.

Tressa and Jack are doing well, and older siblings Harper and Leo are excited about their new baby brother. Congratulations to the Elgin family!

Drs. McBrien and Schieltz Receive Glowing Patient Feedback

Congratulations to Dr. Dianne McBrien (Clinical Associate Professor) and Dr. Kelly Schieltz (Clinical Assistant Professor) from the Division of Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics on some glowing patient comments recently.

“Dr. Kelly Schieltz was BEYOND understanding, empathetic and helpful. This was one of the first times that we left feeling empowered and not defeated. She gave us tools and a plan! it was a great appt.”






“Dr. McBrien is an incredible physician. She is compassionate, explains everything and answers all my questions while taking ample time to do this. She is informed and careful to relay this information to the patient. We are grateful for her service.”