Link: University of Iowa

Lacy Barton Featured in Damon Runyon Video

March 20th, 2019 by Briana Horwath

Lacy Barton, a 2014 PhD graduate from the Geyer Lab, has been recently featured in a video produced by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation.  This video highlights women in science and Lacy’s current research. Lacy is currently a Damon Runyon Postdoctoral Fellow at the Skirball Institute at the New York University School of Medicine.

Ashley Segura-Roman – Callen Prize Winner

March 19th, 2019 by Judy Means

Congratulations to Ashley Segura-Roman (Brandon Davies lab) for being named the recipient of the Joseph E. and Ursil I. Callen Prize for an outstanding senior in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences for the academic year 2019-2020. The award is given to a University of Iowa senior in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who shows a high academic record and evidence of school and/or civic leadership in high school and/or college.

Congrats, Ashley!

Alumna Dr. Liskin Swint-Kruse named Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at KUMC

March 18th, 2019 by Maren Rogers

Biochemistry Alumna Dr. Liskin Swint-Kruse, (1995 PhD with Dr. Andrew Robertson), has been named Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Kansas Medical Center (KUMC) where she has been serving as Interim Chair since last fall. Executive Vice Chancellor at KUMC , Dr. Robert D. Simari, wrote “Over the past eight months, her leadership in both the department and the school of medicine has been commendable.  In addition to her many leadership roles, Dr. Swint-Kruse remains actively engaged in teaching in the ACE curriculum.  She maintains a successful and well-funded research program focusing on ways to improve genomics-based diagnoses for personalized medicine.” Congratulations, Dr. Swint-Kruse!

Juanita Limas Featured on UNC Webpage

March 4th, 2019 by Briana Horwath

Juanita Limas, University of Iowa Biochemistry Undergraduate alumni, is currently featured on the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC) homepage. The article entitled, “Inspiring the Next Generation-Women in STEM” describes the research that women are doing at UNC and how they are inspiring the next generation of researchers. Juanita is featured in an associated video and she specifically thanks her University of Iowa TRiO counselor, Nancy Humbles, for supporting her goal of being a scientist.

Juanita graduated from the University of Iowa Biochemistry undergraduate program in 1999 and performed research in the laboratory of Dr. Lori Wallrath. At the University of North Carolina, she is researching cell cycle control in cancer in the laboratory of Dr. Jean Cook. She was also recently awarded a prestigious HHMI Gilliam Fellowship.

Congrats Juanita!

Congrats Fall 2018 Biochemistry PhD Graduates

January 16th, 2019 by Briana Horwath

Wesley Lay, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. Adrian Elcock, received a PhD on December 14, 2018. His thesis was entitled, “Optimizing Computer Simulation Models for Carbohydrates and Proteins at the Atomistic and Coarse-Grained Level”.

Arpit Sharma, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. Eric Taylor, received a PhD on December 14, 2018. His thesis was entitled, “Loss of the Skeletal Muscle Mitochondrial Pyruvate Carrier Drives Cori Cycling and Whole-body Leanness”.  Arpit is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher at Harvard School of Public Health.

Kyle Powers, a Biochemistry PhD student mentored by Dr. Todd Washington, received a PhD on December 14, 2018. His thesis was entitled, “Structure and Function of the Disordered Tails in Translesion Synthesis DNA Polymerases”. Kyle is currently a Postdoctoral Researcher in Dr. Christiane Berger-Schaffitzel’s lab at the University of Bristol.

Congrats Wesley, Arpit, and Kyle!

Dr. Pamela Geyer Elected to the Board of Directors of the Genetics Society of America

December 19th, 2018 by Briana Horwath

Dr. Pamela Geyer (Professor, Biochemistry, Obstetrics and Gynecology) was elected to the Board of Directors of the Genetics Society of American (GSA). Founded in 1931, the GSA is a professional scientific society for scientific researchers and educators in the field of genetics. Dr. Geyer is excited to join this board at this time of rapid paced discoveries in genetics. She brings to the board her long-standing commitment to training and will continue advancing initiatives to ensure a vibrant, inclusive and diverse network of engaged geneticists. Dr. Geyer is a strong supporter of model organisms and their utility in providing platforms for scientific advances, and looks forward to advocating for these communities. She will serve on the board until 2021.

Congrats Dr. Geyer!

Dr. Madeline Shea Elected as AAAS Fellow

November 29th, 2018 by Briana Horwath

Dr. Madeline Shea has been elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Dr. Shea was elected for her “distinguished contributions to the field of biochemistry and biophysics, particularly in the role of calmodulin in signal transduction, and for the establishment of innovative educational programs.” Among current Biochemistry primary faculty, Dr. Shea joins Drs. Pamela Geyer, Marc Wold, Charles Brenner, David Price, and Peter Rubinstein.

416 fellows have been elected this year and Dr. Shea is one of two scientists from the University of Iowa.

Congratulations Dr. Shea!

For the full press release please visit Iowa Now.

Dr. Price receives 2018 CCOM Collegiate Teaching Award

November 12th, 2018 by Maren Rogers

Congratulations to Dr. David Price for being chosen to receive a Carver College of Medicine (CCOM) Collegiate Teaching Award for 2018. Professor Price has been a prominent teacher in the Department of Biochemistry since joining the University of Iowa in 1989. He has demonstrated unusually significant and meritorious teaching throughout his career. Professor Price has taught thousands of undergraduate and graduate students in core courses focused on Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. His teaching has extended to the laboratory, where he has trained a remarkable 125 individuals whose research has been published in top ranked journals such as Cell and Molecular Cell. These individuals describe Professor Price as a caring mentor that taught them how to critically evaluate data and write clear manuscripts, which have been critical tools for their success.

Among current Biochemistry primary faculty, Dr. Price joins Drs. Peter Rubenstein, Adrian Elcock, Lori Wallrath, Dan Weeks, Todd Washington, Kris DeMali, Pamela Geyer, Marc Wold, and Ernesto Fuentes as recipients of the CCOM Collegiate Teaching Award.

Hannah Campbell awarded the People’s Choice Award for Three Minute Thesis challenge

November 5th, 2018 by Maren Rogers

Hannah Campbell, a graduate student in the DeMali Laboratory, was selected as one of nine finalist for the The University of Iowa’s fifth Three Minute Thesis competition, which challenges graduate students to clearly and concisely articulate complex research to non-specialist audiences.  Hannah was awarded the People’s Choice Award, selected by audience ballot, for her presentation entitled, “Cells that work together, stay together.” Congratulations, Hannah!

2018 Biochemistry Newsletter now available

November 5th, 2018 by Maren Rogers

The 2018 Biochemistry @ Iowa newsletter is hot off the presses and available for download. Alumni and friends should receive a hard copy in the mail this week. If you would like to be added to our mailing list, please send your contact information to While you are at it, feel free to send us your news and updates! Previous newsletters are also available online.