Link: University of Iowa

Madeline Shea wins Michael J. Brody Service Award

Congratulations to Madeline Shea who was recently selected, along with UI Professors David Drake and Tonya Peeples, as a recipient of the 2011 Michael J. Brody Award for Faculty Excellence in service. Named for the late Michael J. Brody, this award is given annually to outstanding faculty members to recognize their service to the University and State communities.

Dr. Shea has been a faculty member since 1989. She is internationally known as a pioneer in statistical thermodynamic models of complex biological systems.

In addition to classroom teaching of undergraduate, graduate and medical students, Professor Shea has been the PhD and MS advisor for 11 students, served on the thesis committees of 45 graduate students, and mentored a remarkable 38 undergraduate students in her laboratory.

Professor Shea is the developer and director of the Carver College of Medicine FUTURE Program.  FUTURE supports faculty members and undergraduates from Iowa undergraduate institutions to spend the summer working in collaboration with UI faculty members. Click here for the UI News Service press release.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.