Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Liam Hovey’ Category

Liam Hovey awarded 2015 Montgomery Biochemistry Scholar’s Prize Award

Wednesday, June 3rd, 2015

LiamHoveyLiam Hovey, an undergraduate major in the Shea laboratory, has been awarded the 2015 Montgomery Biochemistry Scholar’s Prize Award for his outstanding research accomplishments and excellent presentation at the Lata Symposium. This prize was established by mentees, colleagues and friends of Dr. Rex Montgomery, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Montgomery began his career at the University of Iowa in 1955, and is admired for his impact as a researcher, teacher and mentor. Dr. Montgomery is an internationally recognized carbohydrate biochemist and textbook author. While on the faculty, he served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Medicine, the Vice President of Research for the University and was the founding director of the University of Iowa Physician Assistant Program. Dr. Montgomery retired in 2005 after more than 50 years on the faculty.

Liam has presented his research twice at the Annual Biophysical Society Meetings, and twice at the Gibbs Conference on Biothermodynamics. He has received several awards for his scholarship and research including the national Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, UI CLAS Rhodes Dunlap Collegiate Fellowship, the Donald Burton Award in Chemistry, CLAS Dewey Stuit Award and ICRU Fellowships. He was selected to be the sole undergraduate speaking at the afternoon CLAS Commencement ceremony Saturday, May 16 (his talk can be seen here). This summer, he will be matriculating in the Medical Scientist Training Program at the University of Washington in Seattle.

Two students awarded Travel Fellowships to present posters at the Biophysical Society Meeting

Monday, February 17th, 2014

Congratulations to Liam Hovey and Dagan Marx who received travel support to present individual posters at the 58th Annual Meeting of the Biophysical Society in San Francisco in February.  The Society has more than 9000 members, and more than 4000 posters were presented.  Both students have been working in the Shea laboratory to understand the role of calmodulin as a regulator of sodium channel function.

Liam received an award from the Dewey Stuit Fund in Liberal Arts and Sciences which promotes the development of mentor-protégé relationships between undergraduate students and faculty members.  His poster was titled “Determinants of Preferential Binding of Apo Calmodulin to the IQ motif of Neuronal Sodium Channel NaV1.2″.  Liam is pursuing majors in Physics and Chemistry with a minor in Mathematics.  He has a yearlong fellowship from the Iowa Center for Research for Undergraduates (ICRU) and is one of two UI nominees this year for a Goldwater Scholarship.

Dagan received travel support from the Iowa Center for Research for Undergraduates (ICRU).  His poster was titled “Specificity of Calmodulin Recognition of Human Voltage-Gated Sodium Channels”.  Dagan is majoring in Biochemistry and Environmental Sciences (Chemical Sciences) with a minor in Chemistry.  He also presented a poster at the 2013 meeting of the Biophysical Society in Philadelphia with support from a Student Travel Award from the Society.  Dagan had a yearlong fellowship from the Iowa Center for Research for Undergraduates (ICRU) during his junior year, and is currently interviewing for graduate programs in molecular biophysics.

Highlights from the 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat

Monday, August 26th, 2013


The 2013 Biochemistry 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat, organized by Lori Wallrath, Charles Brenner, Maria Spies, Earle Stellwagen, Mark Miller, Lacy Barton, and Maren Rogers, was held on Saturday, August 24. The scientific program at the Levitt Center for University Advancement featured talks by Charles Brenner and Catherine Musselman, Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, Dale Abel, and Director of the Iowa Institute of Human Genetics, Richard Smith. In addition, Gary Firestone (1980 PhD with Ed Heath), Tristram Parslow (1977 MD/PhD with Daryl Granner), Bob Deschenes (faculty from 1989-2004),  and Debbie Thurmond (1997 PhD with Alan Goodridge) gave scientific presentations.

The poster session featured 39 posters. Six total awards were given in three categories. In the undergraduate division, first place went to Dylan Thiemann (Wallrath lab), and second place to Liam Hovey (Shea lab). In the Postdoc/Research Assistant/Associate category, Jiannan Guo (Price lab) and Rebecca Fagan (Brenner lab) won first and second places, respectively . Two Lois Bigger Gehring Awards were given to support graduate student travel to research conferences. Lacy Barton (Geyer lab) and Jessica Maiers (DeMali lab) each won this award for best poster in the graduate student category.

The dinner at the Athletics Hall of Fame featured thoughts and reflections from PhD graduates of the department, including Morey Slodki (1955), Charles Fishkin (son of Arthur Fishkin, 1957), Billy Hudson (1966), Liskin Swint-Kruse (1995), and a video message from Alap Subramanian (1964). Along with former faculty members Charles Swenson, Robert Barker, Earle Stellwagen, Arthur Spector, Bryce Plapp, Robert Roskoski, Larry Solomonson, Alice Fulton, and Daryl Granner.

Thanks to everyone for participating.