Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Dylan Thiemann’ Category

Highlights from the 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat

Monday, August 26th, 2013


The 2013 Biochemistry 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat, organized by Lori Wallrath, Charles Brenner, Maria Spies, Earle Stellwagen, Mark Miller, Lacy Barton, and Maren Rogers, was held on Saturday, August 24. The scientific program at the Levitt Center for University Advancement featured talks by Charles Brenner and Catherine Musselman, Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, Dale Abel, and Director of the Iowa Institute of Human Genetics, Richard Smith. In addition, Gary Firestone (1980 PhD with Ed Heath), Tristram Parslow (1977 MD/PhD with Daryl Granner), Bob Deschenes (faculty from 1989-2004),  and Debbie Thurmond (1997 PhD with Alan Goodridge) gave scientific presentations.

The poster session featured 39 posters. Six total awards were given in three categories. In the undergraduate division, first place went to Dylan Thiemann (Wallrath lab), and second place to Liam Hovey (Shea lab). In the Postdoc/Research Assistant/Associate category, Jiannan Guo (Price lab) and Rebecca Fagan (Brenner lab) won first and second places, respectively . Two Lois Bigger Gehring Awards were given to support graduate student travel to research conferences. Lacy Barton (Geyer lab) and Jessica Maiers (DeMali lab) each won this award for best poster in the graduate student category.

The dinner at the Athletics Hall of Fame featured thoughts and reflections from PhD graduates of the department, including Morey Slodki (1955), Charles Fishkin (son of Arthur Fishkin, 1957), Billy Hudson (1966), Liskin Swint-Kruse (1995), and a video message from Alap Subramanian (1964). Along with former faculty members Charles Swenson, Robert Barker, Earle Stellwagen, Arthur Spector, Bryce Plapp, Robert Roskoski, Larry Solomonson, Alice Fulton, and Daryl Granner.

Thanks to everyone for participating.

Dylan Thiemann honored as a Student Employee of the Year

Tuesday, April 3rd, 2012

Undergraduate Biochemistry major Dylan Thiemann was selected for a Certificate of Appreciation as a Student Employee of the Year. As part of the award, Dylan, along with eight other undergraduates, will have lunch at the President’s home later this month. Congratulations Dylan and thank you for your hard work.

Four students awarded ICRU Fellow Summer Scholarships

Friday, May 27th, 2011

Congratulations to four Biochemistry undergraduates who received Iowa Center for Research for Undergraduates (ICRU) fellowships this summer. The fellowship provides the students with a stipend to work on a faculty member’s research projects. Students are chosen based on the proposed course of study and their academic achievements.

  • Rutviben Patel
    Mentor: Charles Brenner
    Nicotinamide Riboside Metabolism in Yeast Cells
  • Ashley Angell
    Mentor: Kris DeMali
    Vinculin Y822 Cell-Matrix Adhesion
  • David Simoens
    Mentor: Lori Wallrath
    The Role of Chromatin Proteins in Gene Expression
  • Dylan Thiemann
    Mentor: Lori Wallrath
    The Role of Lamins in Gene Expression