Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Rebecca Fagan’ Category

Rebecca Fagan receives Postdoctoral Fellow Research Award

Thursday, February 20th, 2014

Congratulations to Rebecca Fagan,  a postdoc in the Brenner lab for winning the University of Iowa “Postdoctoral Fellow Research Award”.  Dr. Fagan is a 2009 PhD from the University of Michigan with Dr. Bruce Palfey. At the University of Iowa, she earned an American Chemical Society fellowship and has published 4 papers, 2 first author, on biochemical characterization and molecular probe discovery for DNA methyltransferase 1. Now completing her 3rd year as a fellow with Dr. Brenner, Dr. Fagan has accepted a position as Assistant Professor of Chemistry at Bucknell University in Lewisburg, PA starting in August.



Highlights from the 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat

Monday, August 26th, 2013


The 2013 Biochemistry 65th Anniversary and 4th Annual Retreat, organized by Lori Wallrath, Charles Brenner, Maria Spies, Earle Stellwagen, Mark Miller, Lacy Barton, and Maren Rogers, was held on Saturday, August 24. The scientific program at the Levitt Center for University Advancement featured talks by Charles Brenner and Catherine Musselman, Director of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Diabetes Research Center, Dale Abel, and Director of the Iowa Institute of Human Genetics, Richard Smith. In addition, Gary Firestone (1980 PhD with Ed Heath), Tristram Parslow (1977 MD/PhD with Daryl Granner), Bob Deschenes (faculty from 1989-2004),  and Debbie Thurmond (1997 PhD with Alan Goodridge) gave scientific presentations.

The poster session featured 39 posters. Six total awards were given in three categories. In the undergraduate division, first place went to Dylan Thiemann (Wallrath lab), and second place to Liam Hovey (Shea lab). In the Postdoc/Research Assistant/Associate category, Jiannan Guo (Price lab) and Rebecca Fagan (Brenner lab) won first and second places, respectively . Two Lois Bigger Gehring Awards were given to support graduate student travel to research conferences. Lacy Barton (Geyer lab) and Jessica Maiers (DeMali lab) each won this award for best poster in the graduate student category.

The dinner at the Athletics Hall of Fame featured thoughts and reflections from PhD graduates of the department, including Morey Slodki (1955), Charles Fishkin (son of Arthur Fishkin, 1957), Billy Hudson (1966), Liskin Swint-Kruse (1995), and a video message from Alap Subramanian (1964). Along with former faculty members Charles Swenson, Robert Barker, Earle Stellwagen, Arthur Spector, Bryce Plapp, Robert Roskoski, Larry Solomonson, Alice Fulton, and Daryl Granner.

Thanks to everyone for participating.

Postdoctoral fellow news

Tuesday, June 12th, 2012

Two University of Iowa postdoctoral fellows with Biochemistry connections have recently joined the leadership of the University of Iowa Postdoc Association. Katrina Bogan, a 2010 PhD with Charles Brenner and current postdoc in the Welsh lab in Internal Medicine, was elected as the Carver College of Medicine representative to the association’s Council of College Representatives. Becky Fagan, a current postdoc with Charles Brenner, was elected Secretary/Treasurer on the Executive Board of the association.

Dr. Fagan’s work was also featured in the most recent issue of  “Graduate Education at Iowa,” a magazine produced by the Graduate College. The article can be accessed here.

Postdoctoral fellow Rebecca Fagan featured by UI office of postdoctoral scholars

Monday, January 9th, 2012

Dr. Rebecca Fagan, postdoctoral fellow in the Brenner lab, is currently featured in a Postdocs @ Iowa article on the Office of Postdoctoral Scholars website. The article details Dr. Fagan’s work characterizing and identifying inhibitors of  DNA methyltransferase 1, which is supported by a fellowship from the American Cancer Society.

Highlights of the Annual Retreat

Thursday, September 1st, 2011

The 2011 Biochemistry Annual Retreat, chaired by Lori Wallrath and Lacy Barton, was held on Saturday, August 27 at the Coralville Public Library. Short talks were given in the morning by Kris DeMali, Larry Gray, Lacy Barton, Daniel Weeks,  Todd Washington, Xu Liu, Aaron Ver Heul and Madeline Shea. After lunch, talks were given by Marc Wold, Charles Brenner and Miles Pufall .

The poster session featured 31 posters. Seven awards were given in two divisions. Ashley Angell from the DeMali laboratory and Kristen Syring from the Wallrath laboratory won first and second place in the undergraduate division. In the post-doctoral and staff division, Rebecca Fagan from the Brenner laboratory took first place.  There was a three way tie for second place between Jennifer Bays from the DeMali laboratory, Brett Waite from the Shea laboratory, and Kuo-Kuang Wen from the Rubenstein laboratory.

Two Lois Bigger Gehring Awards  were given to support graduate student travel to research conferences. These awards were given to John Pryor from the Washington laboratory and Alexey Soshnev from the Geyer laboratory.

Thanks to everyone for participating.

Rebecca Fagan is an American Cancer Society Fellow

Thursday, May 12th, 2011

Congratulations to Rebecca Fagan on the award of an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellowship. A PhD from University of Michigan, Dr. Fagan is a fellow in the Brenner laboratory working on the enzymology and inhibition of DNA methyltransferase 1.

Highlights of the Annual Retreat

Monday, August 30th, 2010

The Brechler Press Box of Kinnick Stadium was abuzz with Biochemists on saturday for an all-department retreat. As Hawkeye football players ran drills on the field, retreat organizer David Price asked the ~100 attendees to take seats facing the field for a special announcement. Eyes turned toward the jumbotron above the south endzone for a powerpoint tribute to the department, featuring faculty photos and a few candid shots.

Short talks were giving in the morning by Charles Brenner, Pamela Geyer, Ernesto Fuentes, Lori Wallrath and Peter Rubenstein. After lunch, short talks were given by David Price, Sheila Baker, Adrian Elcock and the department’s 2011 faculty recruit, Miles Pufall.

The poster session featured 32 posters. Eight poster awards were given in 4 divisions. Rini Kasinathan from the Geyer laboratory earned the undergraduate prize. Sarah Bergeron from the Rubenstein laboratory, Lawrence Gray from the Khademi laboratory, and Tyson Shepherd from the Fuentes laboratory won first, second and third places in the graduate student division. Jeffrey Cooper from the Price laboratory took honors among research assistants. Finally, Rebecca Fagan from the Khademi laboratory, George Dialynas from the Wallrath laboratory, and Kuo-Kuang Wen from the Rubenstein laboratory won first, second and third places in the post-doctoral division.

The retreat was clearly an energizing event for first year graduate students in attendance. Thanks to all of the presenters and to everyone for participating.