Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘George Dialynas’ Category

Biochemistry at ASCB

Thursday, December 16th, 2010

Biochemists are returning to Iowa City from the 50th annual American Society of Cell Biology meeting in Philadelphia. Lori Wallrath served as co-chair of the mini-symposium titled “Chromatin and Chromosomes.” George Dialynas, a postdoctoral fellow in the Wallrath lab, won an ASCB Travel Award to give a talk titled “Functional analysis of novel LMNA mutations associated with Emery-Dreifuss muscular dystrophy” in another mini-symposium. In addition, Peter Rubenstein presented a poster titled “Suppression of a S. cerevisiae mutant actin-associated phenotype by a mutant profilin.”

George Dialynas supported by Association Francaise contre les Myopathies

Wednesday, October 27th, 2010

George Dialynas, a post-doctoral fellow with Lori Wallrath, has been awarded a research fellowship from Association Francaise contre les Myopathies, a French charity that supports studies on muscular dystrophy.  Dr. Dialynas will use the award to conduct a screen for drugs that ameliorate a model of muscular dystrophy in flies.

Highlights of the Annual Retreat

Monday, August 30th, 2010

The Brechler Press Box of Kinnick Stadium was abuzz with Biochemists on saturday for an all-department retreat. As Hawkeye football players ran drills on the field, retreat organizer David Price asked the ~100 attendees to take seats facing the field for a special announcement. Eyes turned toward the jumbotron above the south endzone for a powerpoint tribute to the department, featuring faculty photos and a few candid shots.

Short talks were giving in the morning by Charles Brenner, Pamela Geyer, Ernesto Fuentes, Lori Wallrath and Peter Rubenstein. After lunch, short talks were given by David Price, Sheila Baker, Adrian Elcock and the department’s 2011 faculty recruit, Miles Pufall.

The poster session featured 32 posters. Eight poster awards were given in 4 divisions. Rini Kasinathan from the Geyer laboratory earned the undergraduate prize. Sarah Bergeron from the Rubenstein laboratory, Lawrence Gray from the Khademi laboratory, and Tyson Shepherd from the Fuentes laboratory won first, second and third places in the graduate student division. Jeffrey Cooper from the Price laboratory took honors among research assistants. Finally, Rebecca Fagan from the Khademi laboratory, George Dialynas from the Wallrath laboratory, and Kuo-Kuang Wen from the Rubenstein laboratory won first, second and third places in the post-doctoral division.

The retreat was clearly an energizing event for first year graduate students in attendance. Thanks to all of the presenters and to everyone for participating.

George Dialynas renews his AHA

Thursday, July 1st, 2010

George Dialynas, a post-doctoral fellow with Lori Wallrath, has competitively renewed his American Heart Association fellowship. Since joining the Wallrath group, he has been the first author of a 2008 review in Mutation Research, a co-author of a 2009 paper in PLoS One, and first author of an original 2010 research paper in Development. He aims to utilize a Drosophila model of Emery-Dreifuss muscular dystrophy to screen for drugs that correct associated phenotypes.