Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Diane Cryderman’ Category

Drs. Wallrath, Geyer, and Musselman among speakers at the Midwest Chromatin and Epigenetic Meeting

Wednesday, May 21st, 2014

The 2014 Midwest Chromatin and Epigenetic Meeting was held on May 18, 19, and 20 at the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery (WID) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Speakers from the University of Iowa included Frederick Domann, Catherine Musselman, Pamela Geyer and Lori Wallrath; poster presenters included Lacy Barton, Heather Brockway, Diane Cryderman, Lynne Dieckman, Daniel Ferrell, and Tyler Weaver.

Over 200 attendees, representing eighteen states and four countries, presented their current research findings on transcriptional regulation, chromatin structure, and epigenetics as it relates to nutrition, the environment and human disease.

The prestigious Journal of Biological Chemistry‘s Herb Tabor Young Investigator Award was given to Andrew DeVilbiss, a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin.

Dr. Wallrath co-organized the event with John Denu of the University of Wisconsin and Raul Urrutia of the Mayo Clinic.

University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet recognizes Rubenstein and Cryderman

Tuesday, October 22nd, 2013

The Department of Biochemistry was well represented at the annual University of Iowa Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet held at the Levitt Center on October 9, 2013.


Professor Peter Rubenstein received the 2013 ‘President and Provost Award for Teaching Excellence’ that recognizes faculty who have sustained a high level of teaching excellence.


Diane Cryderman received the inaugural ‘Research Professional Award’ that recognizes staff members who have demonstrated outstanding efforts in pursuit of research goals.


Cryderman wins Distinguished Research Support Professional Award

Tuesday, May 28th, 2013

Congratulations to Diane Cryderman (Research Associate, Wallrath lab) for winning the inaugural University of Iowa “Distinguished Research Support Professional Award”.  This award recognizes Diane’s outstanding contributions to research and her long-time commitment to the Department of Biochemistry and the University of Iowa.

Two Biochemistry members receive recognition for research presentations

Monday, October 31st, 2011

Xu Liu, a graduate student in the Fuentes lab, was awarded the best student/postdoc oral presentation at the Great Plains Regional Annual Symposium on Protein and Biomolecular NMR (GRASP). The title of his talk was “Specificity, structure, and dynamics of Tiam1 PDZ domain ligand-bound complexes.”

Diane Cryderman, a research associate in the Wallrath lab, was awarded a Mary Jo Small Travel Fellowship to attend the NCI Center for Excellence in Chromosome Biology meeting on the National Institutes of Health campus November 1-2, 2011. The award was given for her poster, entitled “Multiple Interactions between Heterochromatin Protein 1 (HP1) and Nucleosomes.”

52nd Annual Drosophila Research Conference

Wednesday, April 13th, 2011

The Department of Biochemistry was well represented at the 52nd Annual Drosophila Research Conference held in San Diego from March 30 to April 3, 2011. Lori Wallrath moderated the “Chromatin and Epigenetics” platform session while Pamela Geyer moderated “Regulation of Gene Expression.” Research posters were presented by Michael Vitalini and Diane Cryderman in the Wallrath laboratory and by Alexey Soshnev and Ryan Baxley in the Geyer laboratory.