Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Ruth Ann Henriksen’ Category

Department mourns passing of Ruth Ann Henriksen

Thursday, May 5th, 2011

Ruth Ann Henriksen an international authority on blood clotting, who earned her PhD in Biochemistry in 1985 with Whyte Owen, has passed away. Her career was an inspiration to many scientists including William Church of Green Mountain Antibodies, Sriram Krishnaswamy of Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, and Peter Lollar of Emory University, who established the Ruth Ann Henriksen Biochemistry Fund in her honor. Dr. Henriksen’s legacy is one of courage and commitment to the three part mission of research, education and service to the community. Since its establishment in 2009, the Henriksen Fund has drawn donations from more than a dozen friends, family and colleagues of Dr. Henriksen, and has become a major supporter of the FUTURE in Biomedicine Faculty Fellows program.

Two Faculty Fellows from FUTURE in Biomedicine Program Placed in Biochemistry

Tuesday, May 3rd, 2011

The FUTURE in Biomedicine Program directed by Madeline Shea has announced the selection of the 2011 incoming class of faculty fellows and their accompanying students. This class will represent six Iowa schools:  Buena Vista University, Coe College, Cornell College, Mt. Mercy College, Waldorf College and Wartburg College.  Two fellows and their students will be working in Biochemistry laboratories.

College of Medicine FUTURE in Biomedicine Fellow Kristy McClellan of Buena Vista University is bringing her student, Caitlin Hof, to work with Pamela Geyer on transcription factor function in development.

Ruth Ann Henriksen FUTURE in Biomedicine Fellow Maria Dean of Coe College is bringing her student, Katelyn Marshall, to work with Sheila Baker on Xenopus as a model system for expression of secreted proteins.

Unique Visiting Professorship Program Open for Application

Sunday, November 22nd, 2009

FUTURE in Biomedicine, short for Fostering Undergraduate Talent – Uniting Research and Education in Biomedicine, is a unique visiting professorship program that brings faculty from Iowa colleges to our campus with their undergraduate students. (more…)