Link: University of Iowa

Archive for the ‘Richard McGee’ Category

Department reflects on Iowa-Northwestern connections

Friday, October 14th, 2011

As the Hawkeye football team hosts the Northwestern Wildcats this weekend, the department is reminded of several friendly rivalries between the two schools. Adjunct Professor Joseph Walder was a 1975 MD and 1978 PhD from Northwestern before he joined our faculty. Richard McGee, a 1975 PhD with Arthur Spector and 2010 CCOM Distinguished Alumnus, is now a Professor in Medical Education & Faculty Development, as well as an Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment at  Northwestern’s Feinberg School of Medicine. David Engman, a 1990 MD/PhD with John Donelson and currently a Professor of Pathology and Microbiology-Immunology, directs an active research group at Northwestern and recently stepped down as director of the MSTP program after a 16 year tenure. He was past chair of the Medicine Alumni Society Board of Advisors in CCOM. The Iowa/Northwestern connections do indeed run deep. Go Hawks!

Susan O’Donnell wins the Clarence Berg Award

Monday, August 30th, 2010

Susan O’Donnell, who recently completed her PhD with Madeline Shea, has been named the winner of the 2010 Clarence Berg Award. This prize is given every other year to a student who demonstrates “scholarship, integrity, cooperativeness, consideration and a willingness to help others.” Dr. O’Donnell was an American Heart Association-funded graduate student who focused on the structural and thermodynamic bases for recognition of calcineurin by calmodulin domains. Previously, Susan was the winner of the 2006 Usha Balakrishnan Award for best poster presented at the annual meeting of the Center for Biocatalysis and Bioprocessing. She also presented her work in a plenary session of the 2007 Gibbs Conference on Biothermodynamics and received a 2008 Biophysical Society Student Research Achievement Award as well as an inaugural Gehring Award last fall.

Dr. O’Donnell is currently a post-doctoral fellow with Robert Deschenes at University of South Florida.

Susan is the 21st winner of the Berg Award, which was established by former students of Professor Berg, an internationally known amino acid biochemist who was a member of the department for 39 years. Dr. Berg is well known as the author of the 1980 book, The University of Iowa and Biochemistry from their Beginnings.

Prior winners of the Berg Award are:

Rick McGee and Brad Hyman win Distinguished Alumni Awards

Monday, April 19th, 2010

Richard McGee, a 1975 PhD in Biochemistry with Arthur Spector, has been named a Carver College of Medicine Distinguished Alumnus. Dr. McGee, formerly at Georgetown and Mayo and now the Associate Dean for Faculty Recruitment and Professional Development at Northwestern’s Feinberg School of Medicine, is nationally known for development of programs that create a pipeline of qualified underrepresented students into biomedical research.

Former CCOM Distinguished Alumnus, Bradley Hyman, a 1982 PhD with Arthur Spector and a 1983 MD, 1988 resident and 1989 fellow, returns to campus to be lauded as a University of Iowa Distinguished Alumnus. Dr. Hyman, the John B. Penney, Jr. Professor of Neurology at Harvard, is an active physician scientist who directs the Alzheimer’s unit of the Massachusetts General Hospital Institute for Neurodegenerative Disease.

Congratulations to Drs. McGee, Hyman and Spector for these honors.