Link: University of Iowa

Bret Freudenthal wins the Subramanian Thesis Award

Bret Freudenthal, who recently completed his PhD with Todd Washington, has been named the winner of the 2010 Subramanian Award for best PhD thesis in the Department of Biochemistry. Dr. Freudenthal was an American Heart Association-funded graduate student who focused on the structural biology and enzymology of wild-type and mutant proliferating cell nuclear antigen (PCNA) in promoting translesion DNA synthesis. His first author publications include a Biochemistry report, an Acta Cryst D contribution, and a Nature Struct Mol Biol paper, which was highlighted in Nature Chem Biol.

Bret is no stranger to Biochemistry awards, having been given an inaugural Gehring Award last fall. He is bound for the National Institutes of Environmental Health Sciences to work with Dr. Samuel Wilson.

Bret is the 17th winner of the Subramanian Award, which is made possible by a gift from Dr. Alap Subramanian, a 1964 PhD from the department, who parlayed his training with the late George Kalnitzky into a highly successful career at the Max-Planck-Institut. Our deepest thanks to Dr. Subramanian and our heartiest congratulations to Dr. Freudenthal.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.